American Illustration

I just entered my first illustration contest. There are several magazine and websites dedicated to illustration, and most of them offer a yearly contest, often encouraging students to submit work. American Illustration (http://www.ai-ap.com/) is the one I just submitted to. I don’t expect much from this, since (this is not false modesty, I assure you), I feel like my stuff is getting better but has not reached the professional quality I have seen first hand from many of my peers. Happily, I am not stressing about this like I might. Being a student is supposed to be about learning so it should be a given that I am not there yet.

A lot of my entries (I entered 9 peices) are already posted on this site, such as that watercolour/line drawing, and the Alice in wonderland stuff, but here are a few of the others I prepped. These are Editorial Spot illustrations based on stats from Harper’s.

Pounds of radioactive produce grown near Chernobyl that were confiscated in Moscow markets last year: 1,820

Pounds of radioactive produce grown near Chernobyl that were confiscated in Moscow markets last year: 1,820

Ratio of the number of people worldwide who are overweight to the number who are undernourished: 5:3

Ratio of the number of people worldwide who are overweight to the number who are undernourished: 5:3

Chance that a Japanese grade-school student reports never having seen a sunrise or sunset: 1 in 2

Chance that a Japanese grade-school student reports never having seen a sunrise or sunset: 1 in 2

This next one is a full page editorial based on an article about the phsyical effects of mental stress. I think the words are a little much, but this was produced with the guidance of one of my profs, the very one who was going to be grading it, so I thought his expertise was especially relevant.

Cancer? Wrinkles?! NOOOOO!

Cancer? Wrinkles?! NOOOOO!

This is the other half of the portrait I painted on my red sketchbook. That one was the back cover and this is the front cover.

sketchcover72dpiThat’s all for now! Check out that American Illustration site to see some really awesome current stuff.

Leave a Reply

