Bright lights will inspire you… (Nuts & Bolts Parts 2)

Now that I have righteously offended illustrators I admire (Aaron Meshon sent me a cheeky email about my heinous drawings and the way they falsely depict his chin – singular. It was awesome. Is this the way you make contacts? Who shall I offend next?  How about art directors!) I will go on to post some of the photos from my New York trip to the Nuts & Bolts conference.

How about our trip to the Pencil Factory in Brooklyn? The Pencil Factory, if you didn’t know, is this amazing warehouse that’s been converted to gorgeous studios that house some really awesome young illustrators and designers.  By and large they were all awesome, chilled out, stylish and rode bicycles.

A fixed gear bicycle grows in Brooklyn.

And my pictures are by and large, blurry. Alas.

Who could that blurry figure backed by a wall full of great posters be?

Could it be Sam Webber, casually answering questions and sipping a drink?

It IS Sam Webber. His new work is blurred in the background by request. Take my word for it: It was awesome.

This? Oh yeah. It's just his ORIGINAL WORKS that he let us greasy sweating assholes manhandle. NBD.

In case my fangirl ranting didn’t tip you off, Sam Webber is an amazing painter whose website you can see HERE if you don’t believe me. There are a lot of pictures of this due to it’s obvious merit and some issues with the memory card that prevented much further picture taking. But we’re not done yet! Oh, no!

Tourists in front of a sign of some kind?

That’s me. And my friend Javier Ortiz.

Tourists below... some kind of observation deck? Studios?

We walked around a lot and ate some awesome food.

Tourist looks constipated under... OH, the NBC studios observation deck. Like from TV. Very clever and original. Excellent tourism.

Really though, I am looking forward to my next potential trip to NY where I will try to beat art directors about the face and neck with a portfolio of some kind.  Which could open some doors…

Leave a Reply

