Illustrators Sending Postcard Promo Mailers

I am preparing to send out postcard mailers and in my efforts I used my internet research skills to find other illustrators and glean wisdom from their advice. I thought I might post the links to their various blogs on the topic (with a screen shot of their posting), to inform others and for my own reference later.

Kristi ValiantScreen Shot 2013-03-07 at 1.49.57 PM

Idle IllustrationScreen Shot 2013-03-07 at 1.51.30 PM

Trade SecretsScreen Shot 2013-03-07 at 1.52.47 PM

Jeff SzucScreen Shot 2013-03-07 at 1.53.48 PM

Some of the most pertinent information I got from these posts was covered in both Trade Secrets and Jeff Szuc’s postings:  that the US postal service will potentially reject and return postcards with graphics darker that 7% greyscale in the bottom right portion of the card where the address goes. That’s a big one, considering that if your cards are sent back, both your print and postage costs are up in flames.  There are other printing details of that nature that they both mention.

I am sure there are many more great posts on this topic and if so, I’d love to hear about them.  Happy mailing!

One response to “Illustrators Sending Postcard Promo Mailers

  1. Hi Gillian! Great links on postcard promos! Here are two more articles I think can be helpful: Going Postal. What to Consider when Designing a Postcard Promo and my own follow-up on Nick Iluzada’s postcard promo: Learn the Takeaways of His Postcard Promo

Leave a Reply

